Sublime Forum

Use in Lab with NFS and LDAP?

Hi,

I’m a lab admin for a college CS lab. I’m considering the possibility of setting up sublime on the lab computers, but am concerned about the license issues. I’m not concerned about purchasing licenses, but rather how to set it up: the lab uses network file systems and LDAP for user authentication, so all the computers have the /home folder as a network drive, and each user can login to any machine and use it as if it’s any other machine.

First: I’ve been testing with my personal license key (probably shouldn’t, I know, but I can’t really just go and buy a new license if it might not work), and I’m getting the feeling that the license file is attached to the machine somehow. Say I enter my license on machine A, which generates a license file. I then sign in to another machine B, open sublime (which should be virtually the same as on machine A since NFS), and now that registration is invalid. Entering my key on B fixes the issue, but it makes the license on A invalid now.

Does there seem to be any way to legitimately handle this? Is the educational lab license done in a different way from a personal license to deal with situations like this? I’d rather not go to my boss and say ‘Nah let’s get the intro students to learn to use vim’.

Second: some what unrelated, but given the same LDAP+NFS setup in the lab as mentioned above, is there a way to setup sublime on each machine ONCE and have the setup available to all users as a default, meaning users inherit it from perhaps the admin, but are free to modify their own packages and settings without changing those of other users? I think currently the best way I have is to set it up once, then have a script to copy the .config/sublime-text-3 folder to each user and chown it to the user, which is rather un-pretty.

Thanks!:slightly_smiling:

0 Likes

Installing License for Educational Lab Model
Inject License (Linux & OSX)