Sublime Forum

Sublime Desktop Icon and Projects

Hi
I’ve been using Sublime for a few months to do a project in a learning language (Jack) and now want to write something in C and thought this would be a good time to learn to use the project feature.

In this video

(OhDatNurd I tried looking for something on your channel !)

it says that you can just grab and drop a folder onto the Sublime icon and voila instant project; except when I installed ST3 there was a problem installing this icon (?) (Probably my bad) and so I only have a link to ST3, hence the dragging of a folder on to it doesn’t work.
Any ideas how to fix so that I can “get into” the projects feature ?
Am running linux 17.1 MATE

Thank you
Lozminda

Ps Also (this is prob a separate question) but what’s the point of building using ST3 (am thinking about my C programs) it looks real complicated and if it isn’t could someone point me in the direction of some good tutorials pls ?

0 Likes

Where is the tab title/sidebar font defined in Ubuntu?
Disapearing Projects

I can’t help with that specifically (although I use Sublime on Linux, I don’t use that distribution and I also generally don’t use drag and drop in general) but that’s not the only way to add folders to a project.

You can also use the File > Open Folder... and Project > Add Folder to Project... menu items to accomplish the same task, and if you already have a window open you can drop a folder onto the window to add it as well.

Generally the idea is that you can work and iterate faster on your code if, when you’re done with changes you only need to press a single key in order to compile your program (and maybe run it as well), as opposed to saving your code, then jumping to a console window and compiling it there. What is best is really what helps you work your best though; whichever way you decide to do it, as long as you’re comfortable with it and it’s working for you, that’s probably the best way.