Sublime Forum

No toolbar available?

Hi,

I’m new to Sublime, but an experienced user of many other code editors like Notepad++, Textpad, and many more. Something I miss with Sublime is an actual toolbar for common file operations, bookmark operations, UI preference toggles, etc. I don’t see this in Sublime and can’t find any reference on the Web about it. In short, where can I find a toolbar? Do I have to create my own? How can I create a toolbar?

Thanks,

– Daniel

2 Likes

Optional top icon bar

The trick with ST2 is to learn the command palette… Ctrl-Shift-P (Win) will open it. From there you can start typing any of the menu commands (and hidden commands) that are available. I came from a background of heavy Notepad++ use as well and after using ST2 for awhile now, key binds and the command palette are where the magic is.

For example, when I want to start writing a new CSS file: Ctrl-N (duh), Ctrl-Shift-P, CSS, Enter. This runs the “Set Syntax: CSS” command. It sounds easier to click on a menu, or toolbar button, but once you get used to this its so much faster.

Also, if you haven’t already, open up the key binds file and peruse through it - try to use as many as you can so you see what they do. It helped me a ton. :smile:

But to answer your question, I don’t think there’s a toolbar at all. I believe ST1 had one, but it appears to have been ditched along the way.

0 Likes

Thank you for your reply SeanWcom.

I guess I’ll have to memorize the key bindings like I did with VI and EMACS back in the days where I was heavily into UNIX.

Best regards,

Daniel

0 Likes

IDEA: I prefer no toolbar, if at some point a toolbar is added, please add it as a vertical toolbar! :bulb:

0 Likes