Sublime Forum

Cursor freezes / lags when typing on new M2 MacBook Pro

Hi all,

I’ve been using Sublime for ~10 years, great product. Has always worked well across Windows, Ubuntu, MacOS. However, I just got a new M2 MacBook Pro, and performance is quite unusable. The cursor freezes and lags when typing or moving across lines, even on fresh restart and with no other applications running. All other applications and editors behave just fine (VSCode etc).

I’m on MacOS 13.2.1 (22D68)

Googling around, I see occasional mentions of this, most notably this hackernews thread: https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=35249654

However, can’t find any solutions. Let me know if anyone has tips, thanks!

1 Like

Does it happen in safe mode?

0 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion! Unfortunately looks like the problem is still present in safe mode – I just opened a 100 line txt file in safe mode and moved the cursor up and down the document, and it was jittery and laggy.

0 Likes

Does it still happen if you set "hardware_acceleration": "disabled" in settings?

1 Like

I disabled it as such, and unfortunately I still see the lagginess

~ % cat /Users/daniel/Library/Application\ Support/Sublime\ Text/Packages/User/Preferences.sublime-settings
{
	"font_size": 14,
	"scroll_past_end": true,
	"hot_exit": "disabled",
	"hot_exit_projects": false,
	"hardware_acceleration": "disabled",
}

However, I also noticed this test in the default settings:

// Enables hardware accelerated rendering. This moves rendering to your GPU,
	// allowing for faster rendering at higher resolutions. Changing this
	// setting requires an application restart to take effect.
	// - "none": Performs CPU rendering.
	// - "opengl": Uses OpenGL for rendering. Minimum required version is 4.1
	//
	// On Mac, this value is overridden in the platform specific settings.
	"hardware_acceleration": "none",