Sublime Forum

Sublime and Atom in 2016 - (love them both, not promoting either)

I know there is an exorbitant amount of threads, typically from the same IP,
that have given their opinions. I have some to share and also am curious to hear
from others.

I first used Atom when it came out and hated it immediately. I waited a few
months and no change. Recently, I believe just a few months ago, I gave it
another shot. I have to say I am shocked at the progress made.

A bit about me being my first post:

• I program in many languages https://www.codeeval.com/profile/jvardanian/
  • I work as a Web Developer for the State of Texas (Programmer IV)
  • I am predominantly a web developer and as many have noted Atom tends to cater
    to this demographic.
  • I do not consider myself a “Sublime Fanboy” but frequently make jokes in my
    office such as “Sublime Text is the cure to Diabetes”, or “Your code is nice
    but the only thing its missing is Sublime Text”

I am at the point where I use both of them and have them mounted on my dock
(OS X) right next to each other.

I don’t think I’ll ever stop using Sublime if not only because of it’s ability
to load large files that other editors (BBEdit, Notepad++, Brackets, and so on)
simply cannot handle. Sublime handles it like a champ and if it does crash
its maybe 1/100 times on files over 50MB

It seems now to me that as long as you aren’t handling a full fledged project
that Atom has a number of advantages. Frankly when I handle a full fledged
project I use PhpStorm even if not coding in PHP. They might as well take PHP
out of it’s name as is. Anyway:

Is Atom still slow as hell for most? (not talking about initial opening). I have
a 1TB ssd and 16GB of RAM so the speed increase cannot be fully on the part of
Atom.

I’ve had mixed results with the CTags plug-in in Sublime. It cannot find
declarations of variables but does fine with methods. I know I can toss an @