Sublime Forum

ST3 Update now is ST4

#1

Well,

I am using ST3 and when opening it, I had a new update. So I clicked update. Now I have ST4 and my license is invalid.

WTF?

16 Likes

After recent update I see LICENSE UPGRADE REQUIRED
[Ubuntu] Revert to ST3 and prevent auto upgrading
#2

Perhaps this discussion can move to https://github.com/sublimehq/sublime_text/issues/4177

1 Like

#3

Not really - that discussion is about warning users before upgrading. This thread is about users who have installed the upgrade to v4 without realising that they were doing so and now find themselves without a valid license. A resolution for this thread would require a solution to this problem.

11 Likes

#4

I got caught up in this as well. Fortunately I was able to retrieve the previous version from my Mac’s trash and all seems normal again.

However, I’m a happy (paid) user of ST3 and don’t yet care to upgrade to ST4.

  1. There absolutely should be a notice that ST4 is a PAID upgrade. Leaving that out feels like a big gotcha. I can’t think of any software I’ve ever used that doesn’t provide a warning before installing an update that requires a new license.

  2. If the user hits “ignore” then the update notice should not reappear on every single launch of ST3. That’s just nagging, which is quite discourteous to those of us who’ve paid for ST3.

I’ve been a very satisfied user of ST for years now, and was glad to pay to support development. But paired together, this is quite user-hostile behavior.

13 Likes

#5

Came here to post the same complaint. What kind of software auto-updates to the next MAJOR version, especially if it requires a license upgrade?

9 Likes

#6

There absolutely should be a notice that ST4 is a PAID upgrade. Leaving that out feels like a big gotcha.

Sublime Text 4 is not a direct paid upgrade. Licenses have transitioned to a permanent 3 year period, meaning anyone who’s purchased a license within the last 3 years will get Sublime Text 4.0 as part of their purchase.

If the user hits “ignore” then the update notice should not reappear on every single launch of ST3. That’s just nagging, which is quite discourteous to those of us who’ve paid for ST3 and are happy with it.

If you have a license you can disable the update check using the "update_check": false setting. We’re looking at improving in the future.

2 Likes

#7

Well, in my case (and surely plenty of others) it was going to cost me $70 because my license was more than 3 years old. So yes, it was a paid upgrade.

An “ignore this update” checkbox is pretty common. I appreciate that there’s a way to disable update checking, but it should be surfaced in the UI not buried in some configuration option the user has to actively seek out.

7 Likes

#8

I agree, licensed users should be offered an easy option for adding that setting from the update dialog.

2 Likes

#9

Sublime Text 4 is not a direct paid upgrade. Licenses have transitioned to a permanent 3 year period, meaning anyone who’s purchased a license within the last 3 years will get Sublime Text 4.0 as part of their purchase.

Which is, of course, intuitively obvious and adequately explained by the text “A new version of Sublime Text is available, download now?” :neutral_face:

I didn’t even know that it was going to update to version 4! Again, what kind of software auto-updates to a MAJOR version? Why would any user expect that?

8 Likes

#10

Just came here to echo what the others have already said. Some sort of indication that this was an update to a new major version and if you hadn’t bought your license in the last 3 years that it would require a new one really should have been included with the update message.

An “update available would you like to download?” really does not cut it here.

8 Likes

#11

I guess there are many users here that where keen to auto-update to Sublime Text 4. At least I was looking forward to ST4. But I can see your point and a warning should be shown if you switch to a new major release. Beside licensing issues there could be other complications as well.

1 Like

#12

This is a joke, right? When I purchased a v3 license, there was no expiration date. An update to v3 should not force a v4 upgrade on me with new licensing requirements. This is very shady, and may cause me to abandon this project if they don’t sort it out real quick-like.

9 Likes

#13

So, where does one download ST3 again? I can’t find a link anywhere to be able to go BACK to the license and version I was using.

1 Like

#15

st3 is here https://code.visualstudio.com/download

4 Likes

#16

HAH, I already have that version. :slight_smile:

0 Likes

#17

https://www.sublimetext.com/3

there are also st2 and even st1 downloadable btw.

5 Likes

[Ubuntu] Revert to ST3 and prevent auto upgrading
#18

When I bought my license in 2016 it said in the sales FAQ:

Future major versions, such as Sublime Text 4, will be a paid upgrade.

I also find it weird that the auto updater would suggest the v4 upgrade to me, when it was clear already then that v4 was paid upgrade (and now worse, a change in licensing terms that I’m not even licensed for anymore).

4 Likes

#19

I created an account just to echo what’s being said here. Completely frustrating to click a generic “update to the latest” button and suddenly need to buy a new license. I’m about to go ahead and pay because the really annoying thing is I love ST and have been looking forward to ST4 (and knew I would need to pay), but being tricked into it while trying to work on something was a very, very bad experience. Definitely damaged the reputation of the company for me.

6 Likes

#20

Popup upgrade to nullify license. This is a horrible practice.

6 Likes

#21
0 Likes