Sublime Forum

[Solved] Need help to add my new package to PackageControl

I just released Yet Another Launcher - a plugin that is an easy launcher for local files, directories or urls.

I am new to programming and to github and still try to figuring out how to add it to PackageControl.

Currently I don’t understand step 6 of Submitting a package.

Can somebody please point me to right steps further.

0 Likes

Ok, here’s what you do:

• fork https://github.com/wbond/package_control_channel
  • in your fork open y.json
  • at line 143 you find an entry for YetAnotherCodeSearch
  • duplicate that, I think yours goes before this one alphabetically
  • change the name, details and labels to fit your package
  • for everything else this is actually a pretty good example so you’re done here
  • commit the changes to your fork and push
  • open a pull request (github should already present you with a button to do so)
  • wait for test results and then for someone to review and merge your pr

Edit: if you need help with any of these steps let me know.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply @braver.

I hope I did everything right. My pull request (https://github.com/wbond/package_control_channel/pull/6544) is up. :slight_smile:

0 Likes

Just got an error, @braver:

Processing package "Yet Another Launcher"
  - ERROR: No valid semver tags found at https://github.com/dahanbn/Yet-Another-Launcher/tags for the package "Yet Another Launcher".

What I have to do now?

0 Likes

You manage what is released to end users by tagging particular versions/commits in your repo. So, go to https://github.com/dahanbn/Yet-Another-Launcher/releases and click the “Draft a new release” button. “Semver”* tags have a name like “1.0.0”, so if you create a new release in GitHub like this, PackageControl will distribute this particular version.

If you make your package more awesome later on, you draft a new release (like 1.1.0) and that will distribute it to end users.