Sublime Forum

Onwards to 3.1

What improvements are planned for this release?

0 Likes

Haha, generally we don’t comment on upcoming features. I have a few ideas in mind, but right now we are focused on making sure the 3.0 transition goes well, especially from an infrastructure perspective.

Keep your eyes on the dev channel for future updates!

11 Likes

@wbond Can you at least confirm if you have GTK 3 support in mind?

1 Like

In what way? To be honest I am not an expert in Linux toolkits. Is there a specific GTK 3 feature or integration that is missing?

0 Likes

I had better integration into the system in mind, especially, the top menu bar and file dialogue. Step towards native Wayland support might be another benefit.

0 Likes

Can you provide some details, since I am unaware of what is missing/different?

0 Likes

GTK 3 uses a different file chooser dialogue with built-in search. The idea would be to link Sublime against libgtk3 so that the new file dialogue would be used.

0 Likes

Oh please, please don’t go that route. While I understand that some people do like the GTK3 file dialog, I - and many others - think it’s absolutely horrible. Basically they’ve conflated search with navigation. Just about every file dialog other than the current GTK3 one uses type-ahead navigation. The Gnome people killed that.

For example:

Currently, I do Ctrl+O to open a file in ST. I navigate to a folder and start typing the first few letters of the file I want to open - say RE. The file README.md is selected but nothing else in the view changes. Cool.