Sublime Forum

How to bind multiple commands for a keybinding?

In some situations I want to use a keybinding to run more than one command.
Just like to run a script, does sublime support this function?

1 Like

Unable to change build system in a keybinding

It’s not possible by default. Temporary solution is to use this plugin: https://github.com/johnyluyte/sublime-text-multi-commads

E.g

{
    "keys": [",", "f", "c"], "command": "run_multiple_commands",
    "context": [{"key": "setting.command_mode"}],
    "args": {
      "commands": [
        { "command": "fold" },
        { "command": "exit_visual_mode" }
      ]
    }
  },
1 Like

This might also be something you can accomplish using Macros possibly.

1 Like

Thank you Nilium, johnyluyte, and dvcrn for a fantastic simple plugin!

Thank you @oivva for pointing this out!

I am an experienced programmer, but I am new to sublime and did not have the time to learn the plugin system simply to execute a few window layout and group commands and bind them to a key. I tried doing this in a macro, but set_layout and friends are not supported in macros. I spent 2 hours trying to figure this out and failed to overcome it because it required far more investment in plugin magic than I have time for now.

Using multi-commands made this a trivial thing to do in my default keymap bindings file. Took 5 minutes!! :slight_smile:

1 Like

its not working completely for me.
Just running the first two commands. not the bottom two.

[{“keys”: [“f1”], “command”: “run_multiple_commands”,
“args”: {“commands”: [
{ “command”: “select_all” },
{ “command”: “paste” },
{ “command”: “focus_group”, “args”: { “group”: 0 } },
{“command”: “build” }
]}}]

0 Likes

The plugin linked above requires more configuration than you’re providing here in order to execute those commands. In particular, unless you include an extra context argument to specify what context the command should run in, it assumes it’s an text command.