Sublime Forum

You need to fix the way themes are being installed, it's rediculess and a complete joke

I’m a developer for more than 10 years, never in my life have i seen a application where you have to follow a manual for installing a theme, that goes like this:

1. Installing theme
  2. Finding theme package through a menu
  3. Change setting file manually in json ( and you don’t know what to write here, so you need to look in a manual specific for your theme to know)
  4. Activate theme
    and maybe also install dependencies.

IT’s A JOKE. User-friendly wise, it’s a complete joke.

This is how it’s should be, and that’s the maximum difficulty.

1. Download theme
  2. Copy it over in some theme folder that is located in the regular theme path-pattern, for example Application Support/Sublime Text/Themes
  3. After it’s copied to the theme folder, it’s automatically visible in a theme menu ( and there should only be a single menu in the app, not multiples like you have now, it’s not normal to have multiple theme menus) . You press it, and done.

Honestly after trying to install 3 themes and fucking up the GUI multiple times - which is so strange that its even possible for a wrongly-installed theme to do - i gave up. Fuck it, never in my life have a seen developers thinking that this is the way to go, and letting theme developers having to make a manual for each and every theme on how to install it. And it’s like 6-8 steps for each.

It’s so complicated the theme developers have forums to help people :smiley: . … complete joke. All themes should be installed the exact same way. And the absolute hardest part of installing a theme should be finding the theme folder … nothing else :smiley: .

0 Likes

maybe you want to suggest on the Package Control issues list that there be somekinda hook/callback that can occur when a package is installed. Then, the theme would just update your preferences to set itself as active once it has been successfully installed…