Sublime Forum

Wont compile?

Hi good day to everyone, This is my first time in this forum. I only got here because of a problem I’m facing… I don’t know why but even after following what youtube does, my sublime still cant run the code… I mean, it runs the first line and does take input from the user but after that nothing happens… after pressing enter after typing in the input, the caret just moves unto the next line and does nothing anymore, I can still type tho then press enter then the caret moved down next line again and NOTHING happens… I sincerely need help… I have several compilers installed but i prefer sublime cuz the UI? or its layout is much simplier

0 Likes

What does your Python build look like? Unless you have installed a third party package, you can’t run any code directly within Sublime that takes input from the user because its builds are output only; so if you call for example input() in a Python program, it will hang forever because no input is ever delivered to to.

The recommended way to run such an interactive program would be to use Terminus to do so; its README on the linked page links to a YouTube video (I am the creator of the video) that describes how to convert a build system to use Terminus.

0 Likes

Okay sir, I will try
I’ll update later

0 Likes

hey there sir, I just recently subscribe to your channel. Your video was quite informative and was easy to understand. It’s just that there must have been something wrong that I’ve done since I got this error…

Unable to create process using ‘“C:\Users\Ace\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python312\ -u” C:\Users\Ace\Desktop\Python\test.py’: The system cannot find the file specified.
[Finished in 0.38s with exit code 101]

can you please help me kind sir?

0 Likes

If that is the error message you’re getting, your build is invalid; it is trying to execute a program named C:\Users\Ace\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python312\ which it can’t do because it’s not a program, it’s a directory.