Sublime Forum

[Windows] Bizarre Issue with Compiling C++

When I compile a C++ program on Windows, I get no errors. If the program only entails “cout” (output), everything works fine. But when there’s “cin” (input) involved, things get weird.
The program will compile with no errors, but the program will never get passed asking the user for their input. Say the user is prompted to enter a number. I’ll enter a number, press enter, and then nothing will happen. It’ll just make a new line in the terminal. I can then literally write in the terminal, creating new lines and entering any kind of character.
Sublime thinks that the program is in the middle of building, offering me a “cancel build” option. If I don’t cancel the build, nothing will happen.
If I try to run the .exe program in an external terminal (by clicking on the exe in Windows’ file manager), the terminal will just close after I press “enter” following the cin input.

I’m new to this, so I’m sure there’s some more information I should provide. Please let me know and I’ll gladly do so . Thanks!

0 Likes

Sublime doesn’t connect the stdin of the program to execute to anything, so regardless of the language or platform you’re on, your program will hang forever when it hits anything that wants to read from stdin because there’s no direct way to feed it any data.

The problem is exacerbated on Windows because such a program sits in the background patiently waiting, and Windows locks executables of running programs, so any further attempts to build the program will throw access errors at the link stage.

To run an interactive program like this you need extra setup; you either need to modify your build system to launch an external terminal and run your program there, or use the Terminus package in your build system.

0 Likes