Sublime Forum

Where does ST3 look for locale settings?

I am new to ST3 and installed it on a Linux Mint 19.2 system. At startup, I get the message:

"Package Control

Your system’s locale is set to a value that can not handle non-ASCII characters. Package Control can not work properly unless this is fixed.

As a temporary work-around, you can launch Sublime Text from the terminal with:

LANG=en_US.UTF-8 LC_CTYPE=en_US.UTF-8 sublime_text"

1. “locale -a” output replies with list which includes “en_US.utf8”
  2. /etc/locale.conf has been edited to include “LANG=en_US.UTF-8”
  3. I have written a bash script which incorporates the work-around, but I would like a cleaner solution.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

0 Likes

What does running locale on a terminal yield?

0 Likes

Here’s the complete list:

LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LANGUAGE=
LC_CTYPE=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_NUMERIC=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_TIME=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_COLLATE=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_MONETARY=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_MESSAGES=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_PAPER=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_NAME=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_ADDRESS=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_TELEPHONE=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_MEASUREMENT=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_IDENTIFICATION=“en_US.UTF-8”
LC_ALL=

Thanks

0 Likes

Did you relogin after doing this? It may be that whatever process/terminal you were using to run ST hasn’t picked up the updated locale config yet. Logging out and in or alternatively rebooting should make it work.

0 Likes

Yes, I did re-login as well as reboot just in case. Added and removed “LANG=…” to /etc/locale.conf. Also tried adding it to .bashrc as an EXPORT.

localectl -a (list available locales) returns:

C
C.UTF-8
en_AG
en_AG.utf8
en_AU.utf8
en_BW.utf8
en_CA.utf8
en_DK.utf8
en_GB.utf8
en_HK.utf8
en_IE.utf8
en_IL
en_IL.utf8
en_IN
en_IN.utf8
en_NG
en_NG.utf8
en_NZ.utf8
en_PH.utf8
en_SG.utf8
en_US.utf8
en_ZA.utf8
en_ZM
en_ZM.utf8
en_ZW.utf8
POSIX

However, “localectl status” returns:

System Locale: n/a (This makes me suspicious!)
VC Keymap: n/a
X11 Layout: us
X11 Model: pc105