Sublime Forum

Weird 'table' element problem

I’m a newbie so apologies if my question is dumb.
I’m doing a Udemy course and I’m just following the instructions in building a very simple table. The problem I have is that one of the table rows simply won’t compile at although it’s syntactically correct.
All I want is the following as one of three tables:

This is the third identical table (copied and pasted) and the other two work just fine but in this case the is a green colour and no matter what I do it remains green and after saving, shutting down and re-opening it remains green and when I open in a browser it's not recognised. To overcome the problem, I did this:
and then built the table I want directly after it (as copied first above) and the table now works just fine but I'm left with this anomaly in the HTML.
0 Likes

Weird <table> anomaly

Ok, so I am replying to my own question because half of what I typed as a new topic has just disappeared - it included the description of problem with Sublime Text I was describing so not very encouraging!

Is this a crap product and have I just wasted $80?

Bizarre, I went to edit the heavily redacted (by ST) original post and in the editor I can see all that I originally typed but it doesn’t appear in the forum visible version.

0 Likes

The problem there might be that you included raw HTML in the page and didn’t quote it properly (e.g. by selecting the text and using the </> button in the toolbar) so it’s not visible. Doing that might help make the content visible.

I don’t personally think so, but to each his own. Note however that Sublime is fully functional as a trial to allow you to determine if it works for you before you purchase it. Also your comment reads (at least to me) as if you are saying Sublime is crap because the forum software isn’t displaying your message properly. If that’s the case, the two are not related to each other.