Sublime Forum

Using Sublime Text 3 as a Java IDE

Hi, I’m currently a college student looking to major in computer science. I took a basic programming course on Java and would like to code Java on Sublime Text because it is very lightweight, portable, and I want to learn how to use it as many programmers found it as an essential tool for their work.

I googled and found Javatar to be a relevant plugin for what I’m doing but am having trouble understanding the need for a source folder and packages. Since I’m just learning, all I’m dealing with is a .java/.class file in a folder or maybe several files in a folder (inheritance). On Javatar, I can’t just simply create a .java file if I want to just create one class and run it–I get errors like “unknown package/class location.” How do I fix this and what does a source folder have to do with this? Step-by-step process would be ideal. It seems like such a hassle to do all these things when I can just save a document as a .java file and run it on command prompt without creating a package/project/source folder, etc., though I know that professional projects will use an established structure.

I read Javatar’s getting started guide, but it only tells me what to do and not why I have to do it. It also seems like so much work you have to do before you can even code.

0 Likes

But why? IntelliJ is much better than Sublime for Java coding, because it has perfect refactoring and code navigation, and nowadays supports everything Sublime does (including multiple cursors)

You can still use Sublime on the side for various stuff, but for Java development? That’s just crazy talk.

0 Likes