Sublime Forum

Text highlighting

This has been discussed here before, but I can’t tell if it’s really been resolved. More likely I’m not understanding something in the threads–I’m not a programmer. I’m using ST for prose. What I’d like is the ability to highlight a portion of text: I select the text, then, say, hit a key combo, and the background of that selected section turns a different color and stays that way (maybe to be toggled off later…). Possible? As I say, I’m not a programmer, but I can implement plugins, key bindings, etc. Any thoughts appreciated.

1 Like

https://packagecontrol.io/packages/Text%20Marker
https://packagecontrol.io/packages/Text%20Highlighter

0 Likes

Thanks. Those look like good candidates. I’ll check them out.

0 Likes

Both of these packages seem dedicated to highlighting all instances of the same string. I undertand the utility of that for programming, but that’s not what I’m after. I just want to be able to highlight single words or different chunks of text and have that highlighting persist after I save/close the file.

1 Like

You could do that with a little plugin like this:

import sublime
import sublime_plugin

REGIONS_KEY = "highlight_text"

class HighlightTextCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
    def run(self, edit):
        regions = self.view.settings().get("highlight_regions", [])

# this seems to be required because sublime.Settings.set() doesn't like sublime.Region values
        for sel in self.view.sel():
            regions.append([sel.begin(), sel.end()])

self.view.settings().set("highlight_regions", regions)
        self.view.add_regions(REGIONS_KEY, [sublime.Region(region[0], region[1]) for region in regions], "region.yellowish", "", sublime.DRAW_NO_OUTLINE)

class ClearHighlightCommand(sublime_plugin.TextCommand):
    def run(self, edit):
        self.view.settings().set("highlight_regions", [])
        self.view.erase_regions(REGIONS_KEY)