Sublime Forum

"TERM environment variable not set." when Python build (on mac)

Hi everybody,

First of all, note that I am a newbie with ST3 (but not with Python).

I have a “little” problem that I can not explain. And that makes me totally crazy.

When I build a Python script, I have the following warning: “TERM environment variable not set” (but the script is still executed correctly). I have the following configuration:

• ST3 latest version build 3126, out of the box and paid :wink: ;
  • macOS Sierra;
  • Python 3.5.2 (Anaconda 4.2, latest version for mac).

When I make an “echo $TERM” in a (bash) terminal the result is “xterm-256color”. So it seems to me that my problem comes from:

• the configuration of ST3;
  • or the configuration of Anaconda;
  • or ???.

BUT the strangest thing is that I have two computers (desktop and laptop) with (apparently) exactly the same configuration. On the desktop (mac pro late 2013, love it), no problem at all. But on the laptop (MBA 11", love it too) I have this f*****g warning.

Any ideas about this?

Thank you in advance,

Regards,

Pierre BÉJIAN
(France)

0 Likes

What build system are you using to invoke the build? The default python version, something from a package, custom one?

My Mac is running 10.10.5 currently. From bash the terminal is xterm-256color but from Sublime in this simplistic example of executing a shell script, the result is dumb (I’m kinda childish, so I chucked).

I don’t know is the reason for that is python related or sublime related, though. On my linux box the same operation produces linux as the terminal instead.

In either case, it seems to be set to something (if not what you would expect).

0 Likes

Hi,

I’m using the default python build system.

I still don’t understand, but following your example I made some test:

• add export TERM=“xterm-256color” to my .bash_profile
  • add a Bash.sublime-build with the “-l” option (so the .bash_profile is read before running a bash script)