Sublime Forum

Tabbing to tab stops in Typescript with ST3

I’m new to Sublime. I just want the tab to take the cursor to the next tab stop, inserting spaces to that point. Ideally, I also want hitting delete from a tab stop to take me to the previous tab stop.

I get this behavior in an empty file. When I save a file as .ts or .js, hitting tab instead inserts 4 spaces no matter where the cursor is. Even in a brand new file. Hitting delete never back-tabs.

How do I fix this? My settings:

"tab_size": 4,
"translate_tabs_to_spaces": true, // true or false, doesn't make a difference
"use_tab_stops": true,
"shift_tab_unindent": true, // true or false, doesn't make a difference
"detect_indentation": true,
"auto_indent": true,
"smart_indent": true,

CLARIFICATION: I want to insert spaces, not tabs. I am now only seeing this problem in Typescript, not Javascript, though I thought I also tested in JS when I posted this.

0 Likes

Hello? Is there another way to get help? Thanks!

0 Likes

If you have a js/ts file open, on the bottom right there should be a drop down menu with the label “Spaces: 4”. Open it and check that “Indent using Spaces” is disabled.

0 Likes

Disabling it fixed the problem for just that one file, but then I can’t cursor through the tabbed area, suggesting that it inserted a tab character and not spaces.

I’m used to editors having this behavior while inserting spaces for tabs (e.g. BBedit and Visual Studio Code). Is this not possible in Sublime?

Thanks for responding!

0 Likes

For some reasons you have set "translate_tabs_to_spaces": true inside js/ts files, but you need to change it to "translate_tabs_to_spaces": false. If I understand you correctly you already tried to change it in the User settings. You may try to open Preferences > Settings - Syntax Specific while being inside a ts file and add the setting there (this has something to do with setting precedences).

0 Likes