Sublime Forum

Tab completion for snippets with unexpected behavior

Hi,

I’m new to sublime text 3 after using Notetab Pro for many years.

I made a clip library for my programming niche and set up tab triggers. One of the things that’s confusing me is that sometimes I have to hit the tab two or three times for it to trigger the snippet. It appears to search for any text in the document that matches what I typed and waits to see if I want to select some other text before running the snippet.

In Notetab Pro the trigger is the spacebar and there is no ambiguity- it just slaps the snippet up ready to use.

Any ideas on this?

Also related to snippets, I’m having trouble figuring out how to wrap selected text with a snippet. Sometimes I want to comment out or otherwise process a bunch of text in place with a snippet, but the selected text ‘inside’ the snippet. Any tutorials on doing this? I saw a few discussions on stack exchange but they didn’t really clear things up.

Thanks a lot-

Scot

1 Like

Does this happen after using a previous snippet by any chance?

Sublime handles snippets with fields in them by requiring you to press Tab to move between the fields, with a Tab press at the end of the snippet causing the cursor to jump to the end of the snippet. This can catch you unaware.

For example, given this snippet:

<snippet>
    <content><![CDATA[
Sample:$1
]]></content>
    <tabTrigger>sample</tabTrigger>
</snippet>

Typing sampleTab inserts the text of the snippet, with the cursor sitting after the : character. Now you’re sitting in field $1 so Sublime is waiting for you to type the text that goes there and press Tab again to jump to the end of the snippet.

Instead, you type loremTab (for example) to expand a lorem ipsum, but you have to press it twice. The first time ends the previous snippet, and the next press does the expansion for the next snippet.