Sublime Forum

Syntax Scoping Help: Class vs Instance

I’m creating a syntax definition for Alan, an Interactive Fiction authoring language. I’m no syntax expert, but with the help of users from the forum I’m starting to make my way through scope name choices and best practices.

I’m implementing the sytnax constructs using arbitrary scope names until I understand which are the correct choices, and I’d like some help to fix the scope names before the project grows too much. My problem is mainly due to lack of experience on how to determine the right scope a syntax construct belongs to, as well as handling the scope name segments.

The Alan language is a class-based programming language, so the distinction between Class and Instance is significant (especially for plugins and scope selectors). Also, all instances are statically created at game-start, and no new instances can be created during play (ie dynamically).

So far, with help from this forum, I’ve managed to scope class declarations correctly. Where the declaration of a class being:

EVERY book IsA object.
  -- here go class-level attributes, verbs, checks, etc.
END EVERY book.

… is being scoped as:

EVERY book IsA object. -- comment
--^^^                  meta.class.alan    storage.type.class.alan
--             ^^^^^^  meta.class.alan    entity.other.inherited-class.alan
--                   ^ meta.class.alan    punctuation.terminator.alan
--    ^^^^             meta.class.alan    entity.name.class.alan
--         ^^^         meta.class.alan    storage.modifier.extends
END EVERY book.
-- ^^^^^^^^^^^^        meta.class.alan
--        ^^^^                            entity.name.class.tail.alan
--            ^                           punctuation.terminator.alan

Instance Construct

An instance will be declared with this syntax:

THE cake IsA object.
  -- here go instance-specific attributes, verbs, checks, etc.
END THE cake.

As a temporary solution I’ve scoped this way (just to get the job done):