Sublime Forum

Syntax Highlighting for Plain Text [noobie asking]

Ok, I don’t even know if I’m asking this in the right place, and pardon me if I appear out-of-space dumb by asking this –

But how the hell do I create a Syntax Highlight for good ol’ Plain Text (.txt) format?

All I want are for lines starting in ALL CAPS to be a certain color, (necessary)
lines starting with ** to be another, (necessary)
and ideally have words between asterisks bold. (optional)

To clear it up, I’m not a coder, but a copywriter, and I bought Sublime because I love its feel and editing powers, and I’ve setup everything literally the way I want to, except this piece…

Help appreciated with head held down for my aversion of technical documentation.

Cheers,
nws

0 Likes

There is two things:

• First a syntax file to indicate to sublime what you want to highlight, using regular expression. This is described at http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/3/syntax.html
  • To each regular expression you associate a scope (a kind of identifier) that will then be used by the color scheme to decide how the text will be shown (character color, line color, bold, italic, …) For this you can either try to find existing scope supported by your current color scheme, or just create a new one (typically starting from an existing one and adding your new scopes).

I just created very quickly a syntax that might be a good starting point for you, using the markdown scope usually supported by many color scheme:

%YAML 1.2
---
# http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/3/syntax.html
name: My Plain Text
file_extensions: [txt]
scope: source.txt
contexts:
  main:
    # Line starting in all caps
    - match: '^[A-Z_]+\b.*'
      push:
        - meta_scope: markup.heading
        - match: '$\n?'
          pop: true
    # Line starting with **
    - match: '^\*\*.*'
      push:
        - meta_scope: meta.separator
        - match: '$\n?'
          pop: true
    # Words surrounded by *
    - match: '(\*)(\w+)(\*)'
      captures: