Sublime Forum

Syntax highlight capture scopes should apply to all captures of a given group

I’m very new to sublime text 3, and I’m starting to play around with syntax highlighting. One thing I’ve found, which I don’t wether is a feature or bug (but please tell me if Iyou know) and that yet is really counterintuitive, is that in a match pattern with quantifiers on groups and context assigned to groups within the “captures:” section, the scope will only be assigned to the last capture by the group.

As an example, say I have a syntax with the following pattern
- match: "(blah,\\s*)++"

which then assings constant.language to capture 1.

If I apply it to the text blah, blah, blah,, only the last “blah” will be highlighted, whereas I wish the three of them were.
What do you think? Should that be included as a feature:

0 Likes

A Little Syntax Regex Issue

pretty sure it’s not a bug, it’s probably done for performance reasons - if you need to achieve that you can normally leave it with no repetition as long as the context doesn’t change, it will then find and scope all instances naturally.

it’s the same reason why I used a lookahead in the Markdown syntax for thematic breaks, so I could scope the non-whitespace characters:

1 Like

If the Sublime regex engine is implemented like I think it is, then this is a fundamental limitation. Each regexp has a fixed number of positions it needs to save; capturing multiple instances of the same group would require dynamically keeping a list for each capture group for each regexp. This would be a significant change to some fairly tricky internals and could adversely affect the performance of syntax highlighting.