Sublime Forum

Sublime Text/Sublime Merge Diff Marker Question

Hello,
Thank you for helping me with my question.

I noticed after a I commit a file that the green diff marker stays green, but if I close the file and re-open it, that diff marker goes away.
I changed "git_diff_target" to "head" to see if that makes a difference, but the behavior stays the same.

I would think that after a commit that the green diff marker would go away since there is now parity between the file in Sublime Text and the newly committed file.

I am quite new to GIT, so I may not be understanding how diff is working. But as I understand ‘head’, it is the latest file in the commit history.

Thanks again for your help in understanding this issue.

0 Likes

Here is the state after I close the file and re-open it.

0 Likes

Here is the change I made to the settings file in Sublime Text.

0 Likes

It should indeed go away after you commit, yes.

If you check the console (View > Show Console) do you see any errors or messages that might be related?

As a sanity check, are you sure that the file that you’re editing is definitely from the repo that’s open in Merge? (because the mini diff applies to non-git files as well, and in those cases it tracks changes until you close and re-open the file).

0 Likes

OdatNurd,
Thanks for your help! Your videos are one of the reasons I am using Sublime Text/Merge. It is so cool that I am getting to dialog with you. I love what a small place the internet can be sometimes.

Below in the console output you can see that git is tracking my Ansible_Class dir.
As far as errors go, Sublime Text is unable to open Preferences.sublime-settings. That is the only error I see. When I go to /Users/sl/Library/Application Support/Sublime Text/Packages, there is not a Default dir, thus no Preferences.sublime-settings. Could this be the source of the issue?