Sublime Forum

Sublime 4, wonder when?

Hi there,
Thanks for creating such a handy textEditor.
I’m about buying a license, just wonder if you know the date of releasing Sublime 4?
I’ve read that when I buy license for Sublime3 I wouldn’t get a free upgrade to Sublime4.
Kind regards
Mike

0 Likes

Why pay for Sublime text license?

Sublime text 3 isn’t out of beta (nearly though), so it’s going to be a bit hard for John to tell when ST4 is going to be released…

1 Like

Only the Jon and Will know for sure when (or if) Sublime version 4 will be launched, so anything we say in this thread is pure speculation unless someone can cite a credible source. I myself have only really followed Sublime since early April of this year, so I’m by no means an expert or long-standing user.

With that said, from the Sublime Text Blog, this timeline is available:

So, if history holds (and again we have no way of knowing if it will or not) even if version 3 was released tomorrow it could still be months or a year before a beta version of 4 is available, and even then it could be available only for registered users.

The Sales FAQ does mention that “Future major versions, such as Sublime Text 4, will be a paid upgrade” and “Licenses purchased for Sublime Text 3 do not expire, however an upgrade fee will be required for Sublime Text 4” (emphasis mine).

So we can probably safely presume that we will have to pay something less than a full purchase price for the upgrade when it happens, since that’s usually how that works. Anecdotal evidence in the post that announced the first beta version for Sublime 3.0 appears to be that the upgrade price is less than half the price of a full new version.