Sublime Forum

So, what's stopping me from using the evaluation version and never paying for it?

I’ve been using Notepad++ for quite a few years now, and more and more people kept suggesting that I switch to Sublime. When I first came to the website a few months (years?) ago, I saw a “Buy” button and that was an instant turn off for me. But today, I actually wondered on the Download page, to try out the “trial” and see if it’s actually worth it, and saw an interesting thing: “Sublime Text may be downloaded and evaluated for free, however a license must be purchased for continued use. There is currently no enforced time limit for the evaluation.”

So, what’s exactly stopping me (well, anyone) from using the evaluation and never purchasing a license? I always had this question about WinRAR, but WinRAR’s distribution model is a deliberate marketing choice, and, though I still don’t know how it works for WinRAR, the devs clearly understand that hardly anybody buys a license for their software and they’re (somehow) OK with that.

So, what’s the story with Sublime?

1 Like

While Sublime is in the unregistered evaluation mode, you get nag popups after every few saves to remind you that you haven’t paid for it yet. Additionally, you need a license key to be able to use the development versions of Sublime, if that’s important to you.

Unregistered users also cannot turn off the popup that tells you when a new version is available, so without buying a license you get notified every time you start Sublime when a new version is out and you haven’t installed it yet, which some find annoying.

Apart from those things, it’s just a matter of conscience, really. Only the company itself can speak to why they want to have an open ended evaluation period, though.

5 Likes

You might be surprised by how annoying that occasional popup of “Please buy a license” can be. Just last week, I finally got fed up and bought a license just to get rid of that thing.