Sublime Forum

Snippets with functions and multiple values - is that possible?

Hello,

I am a ST newbie and I come from Emacs. There I used heavily YASnippet and it was possible to use functions in snippets.

Now I am wondering if I can do the same in a snippet in ST.

1. I want to enter a value and later do a multiplication with 1.19 later in a mirror.
  2. I want to have the current date in a snippet field.
  3. I would like to offer different contents in a snippet field and would like to choose from 1 of them?

My main use case is a larger markdown snippet that works more than a template where I can tab through insert different stuff and where I would like to have a larger flexibility.

I hope my question is somewhat understandable? If there would be a better solution than snippets for that than I would be pointed in the right direction.

Best regards,

Daniel

0 Likes

Sublime snippets use boost’s regular expression. So any logic which can be done with that, such as conditionals and substitutions, can be applied in snippets as well.

For a more advanced logic, it seems that the easiest way is to use a Sublime macro, which is capable of executing anything you’d like, including insertion of snippets and navigating its fields.

Here are some links to related topics which might give you the information you need:

Disclaimer, I’m not experienced with the above material, so I hope that I’m not misleading you.

1 Like

To get current date into a snippet, I needed to write a helper command to go along with it. So for example, I had a comment header snippet. You can create your own fields in a snippet with ${CUSTOM_NAME} in the text. You invoke the snippet with your command instead of the snippet and when doing so, you can replace the custom field text.

A snippet of the header command:

date = time.ctime(time.time())
        year = time.strftime("%Y", time.localtime())

# Some irrelevant code snipped 

# Inserting template/snippet