Sublime Forum

Simple Python script gets stuck

I just got sublime text 3 for Ubuntu. I have no experience in either. I have this very simple python program that I am trying to run to see if everything works properly. The first line asks for input from the user and when I run the script and type the imput, it just stays there, it doesnt go to the next line, and if it does, I cant see it.

name = input("What’s your name? ")
print("Nice to meet you " + name + “!”)
age = input("Your age? ")
print(“So, you are already” + age + " years old, " + name + “!”)

Thank you so much.

0 Likes

Build broken? - Python 3 - input()

It’s not possible with core Sublime to run an interactive program such as this directly within Sublime. The build process is more for running programs than interacting with them, so there’s nothing that connects the input of your program to anything in Sublime.

The net result is that once your program hits the input, it’s effectively hung forever waiting for you to provide input that you can’t give it.

One solution is to use use SublimeREPL to run interactive python scripts from directly within Sublime, although this requires some setup.

Alternatively, you can select Tools > Build System > New Build System..., then replace the contents of the buffer with the following and save it as "Xterm_Python.sublime-build` (or some similar name):

{
    "shell_cmd": "xterm -e 'python -u \"$file\" ; echo \"<RUN COMPLETE>\" && read'",
    "file_regex": "^[ ]*File \"(...*?)\", line ([0-9]*)",
    "selector": "source.python",

"env": {"PYTHONIOENCODING": "utf-8"},
}

Once it’s saved, go to Tools > Build System and choose the build; it will appear in the menu with the same name as you gave the file above.

Now when you build, an external xterm window will be opened and the program will run in there. When it’s finished, press Enter to close the xterm window and return to Sublime.

1 Like