Sublime Forum

SCSS, encoding compatibility error

Hello. I’m a beginner using Sublime Text. I’m using version 3.1.1., build 3176, on macOS 10.12.6.

I’m trying to set up a simple site using SCSS with partials. I installed the SASS and SCSS packages (Sass, SASS Build and SCSS) and for testing purposes I created an empty .scss file. When I run the Build command, I get the following error on the console:

Encoding::CompatibilityError: incompatible character encodings: ASCII-8BIT and US-ASCII

I’ve googled this and still haven’t found a solution. I was using Dreamweaver some time ago and I believe I solve a similar issue using @charset “UTF-8”; at the beginning of all scss files, but it doesn’t seem to work in this case.

I probably am failing at something basic. Can anyone help me out with this? Thank you.

EDIT: The problem seems to lie with the file path having characters like “ê” and “á”. I’m Portuguese and we have these accented characters. I’d still like to find a solution because I may not always have the option to rename folders.

0 Likes

Can you run the necessary commands from the terminal/console?

0 Likes

Hello. What do you mean by necessary commands? I believe I can run the commands from the console, the way I installed Package Control, for example.

0 Likes

I believe what @FichteFoll meant was, if you open a MacOS Terminal App, go to the appropriate location on your file system and then manually execute the commands that the build system you’re using is doing, do you get the same results?

For example, if manually running the commands works but in Sublime it does not, then the next course of action is to figure out if there is some environment setup that the Terminal has that Sublime does not.