Sublime Forum

Running scripts wih sublimetext, advice needed

hello,

I want to run a collection of scripts from ST via key binding, menu items. I see that commands must be implemented within “packages” folder, as a sublime plugin.

Also, some scripts require user input. What is the easiest way to input a text string, that serves as argument before executing a command?

I am new to sublime plugins, I think I’d prefer not to use API from ST and scripting stuff outside of ST. Plus, some scripts are part of a project and should stay there. I am not sure if I should do it this way, though.

It’s fairly easy to get started, I’d just like to ask for some comments, tips before diving deeper into the matter.

thanks

0 Likes

It’s sort of unclear what you’re asking here. Python files that are in packages are plugin resource files, not arbitrary user scripts.

A way of thinking of this is that Sublime has a Python interpreter built in, but:

• If you thought that installing Sublime was all of the tools that you needed in order to create plugin commands and packages for Sublime Text, this is indeed the case.

• If you thought that because you installed Sublime, you can now run Python programs, you cannot; you need to install Python to do so (if it isn’t already installed).

With that in mind:

This is possible; Sublime has an internal exec command for doing this. It’s the command that is used to execute a build. So for example if you make sure that Tools > Build System is set to Automatic or Python, you can open a Python script, select Tools > Build (or the associated key, see the menu), and Sublime will run your program externally.

To execute a program in response to a key binding, you would need to use the exec command directly in the key binding. For example:

{
        "keys": ["super+alt+t"],
        "command": "exec",
        "args": {
            "shell_cmd": "python /home/tmartin/test.py",
            "working_dir": "/home/tmartin",
            "encoding": "utf-8",