Sublime Forum

[Resolved] I want to insert text from input list

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to suplime text api development and I try to make something very simple. What I want is to code a command to insert inside a view a text among a possible list of values (theses values are read from a file specified inside a setting file, need to find how to do that too …).

When calling this command, I’d like a list to appear like a command panel and I could search inside this list an item I want to add to the view.

• I found how to add a text at a specific place (thanks hello world).
  • It seems a ListInputHandler is what I need to display the list.
  • It seems I need to use a WindowCommand to use the ListInputHandler object.
  • I don’t want to use a WindowCommand as this command has no sense outside a view.

Well, I’m thinking of something like this, but this sure is false.

import sublime
import sublime_plugin

class ItemInputHandler(sublime_plugin.ListInputHandler):
    def name(self):
        return "item"

def placeholder(self):
        return "Item"

def list_items(self):
        items = ["Item 1", "Item 2", "Item 3"]
        return items

class ExampleCommand(sublime_plugin.WindowCommand):
    def run(self, item):
        view = self.window.active_view()
        selections = view.sel()

item = ItemInputHandler()
        print(item)

for region in selections:

pos = region.a
            view.insert(edit, pos, item)

def input(self, args):
        if "name" not in args:
            return ItemInputHandler()
        else:
            return None

Could someone give me some help ?

0 Likes

There’s two ways to do something like this; one of them is a ListInputHandler and the other is a quick panel.

The ListInputHandler method is only available to commands that appear in the command palette. You can also bind such a command to a key if you want, but it’s important that the command appear in the command palette or it won’t work.