Sublime Forum

Reason For Sublime Text $80 Price: I Think I Have It

For a while it bothered me.
Charging people all over the world $80 for a text editor that was good, nice and compact - but hardly all and everything.
Like so many other posters noted, the microeconomic truth that elasticity of demand only exists within a modest range around the product’s natural price-point seems very relevant to Sublime Text. Or, putting it plainly, ST would have vastly higher sales were the price around $25. It’s easy to see all the cash-strapped self-taught coders buying it then. No doubt even many coders in Africa, S. America and SE Asia would give it a run at that price.

But let’s look at the other consequences of these high sales with much lower margins. Clearly, to maintain revenues at the level achieved under a $80 price tag, the $25 product must sell volumes 3-4 times that sold previously right from the price-change.
More pointedly, the huge influx of new buyers will include many less proficient coders - since the latter would generally be able to afford the $80 price - and a good share of these will have less ability in using the product, handling bugs encountered, etc than the well-supported professional users. To maintain usage (and hence future update revenues) by the new customers, STHQ Pty would have to lay on substantially more tech support staff to help these newcomers over the product acclimatization hump and this would seriously eat into the increased sales, especially in year 1 after the price drop. As well as having additional tech support needs, the new customers would also have new and varying opinions on software enhancements. What John Van Dyck at Cardway Inc in NYC would like in a text editor reflects the needs of his employer. These will be very different from what Jomo Ndoya, a freelance web engineer in rural Kenya, would find useful.