Sublime Forum

Pandoc command from Sublime

Hi,
I am quite new to Sublime Text.
Usually, I convert my *.md files to *.docx from command prompt, using

pandoc --filter pandoc-citeproc -t docx 1.md -o 1.docx

Is it possible to invoke this command from Sublime itself?
I suppose that there is trivial solution, but I am a n00b in this…

0 Likes

A general rule of thumb for Sublime is that if there’s a command that you can execute from a command prompt, you can automate it in Sublime. The only exception to this is that Sublime doesn’t directly support gathering input from something that you run (i.e. an interactive program), so for that you need a bit of extra setup.

What you want for something like this is a build system. Despite the name, this is something that you can provide exactly what you’d type on the command line and have Sublime execute it for you.

For your sample, that would look something like the following example:

{
    "shell_cmd": "pandoc --filter pandoc-siteproc -t \"${file}\" -o \"${file_base_name}.docx\"",
    "working_dir": "${file_path}",
    "selector": "text.html.markdown"
}

The shell_cmd specifies what you’d type (with various variables that expand out based on the current file name), working_dir specifies what the “current” directory is set to while the program executes, and the selector tells Sublime in what circumstances it should automatically select this build.

To use it, select Tools > Build System > New Build System from the menu, replace the stub text with this, and then save it as a sublime-build file in the location that Sublime will default to (which is your User package).

You can then select it directly from Tools > Build System in the menu (it will appear with the same name as you used when you saved the file), or select Automatic from that menu and Sublime will pick this build when the current file is a markdown file.