Sublime Forum

PackageControl "batch" mode please?

Rather than individidually selecting/installing packages, it’d be great if we could build a list of packages to install (as in, selecting a pkg just brings us back to the pkg list), and then “finalize” to install the entire list, for those times when we know we need to install a bunch of packages. Having to pull up the PackageControl InstallPackage list each time, then select, then start all over, is inefficient – and if you’re intending to install >5 pkgs or so, painfully inefficient at that.

Willing to provide more UX details if desired, and if this already exists please tell me how to configure it so PkgCtrl doesn’t “drop out” after each install, but lacking that, having a “batch” mode would be a HUGE UX improvement for me, personally, esp. when first installing (and as a contractor, I do that a LOT). Thanks!

0 Likes

BTW, suggested over in another thread an alternative: Allow existing ST (and SM when PkgCtrl enabled) to dump a text list (json or whatever) of all installed pkgs, then if user copies same file into new install, PkgCtrl either automatically reads and installs latest appropriate for all, or a cmd tells PkgCtrl to do same.

The problem with users copying pkg bundles directly is that many corp environments don’t allow bringing in arbitrary binaries, mounting external drives, or even accessing cloud drives. In those cases, a user could still email themselves the text list of their pkgs for initial ST (and SM) setup, c&p the pkg list into a new text file in the proper location, etc. So long as they have a properly-recent ST/SM available to install, they’ll be fine.