Sublime Forum

Package -- Load PyPI Dependency

Hello –

I would like to create a Sublime Text package that allows users to export plain-text documents (marked-up prose, not code) to .docx files. I am a web developer; I am not a Python developer, but am willing to learn / am currently learning…

Anyway, I would like to use the “python-docx” Python package in my Sublime Text package, and I have no idea if that’s possible, or how to do it…

https://python-docx.readthedocs.io/en/latest/user/install.html

There’s this SO post that makes it look like I maybe could import it from the raw files (if I include them inside the package, I think?)… but then “python-docx” itself has a dependency on a package called “lxml”, and I have no idea how far that particualr rabbit-hole goes, or how to resolve dependencies’ dependencies this way, etc…

I also read the Package Control dependencies documentation and didn’t understand it at all… I’ve used NodeJS / NPM before, so I feel like I should be able to get this, but I literally read this page (and looked through the example stuff it links to) and said “What?” out loud, then re-read it, and then that’s when I came here for help…

Also, if there’s an alternative way to accomplish generating .docx files from within a Sublime Text package I’m all ears… I just need things to be as dead-simple for authors (e.g. non-developers) as possible, so they can just install a package and be done, and not have to install and configure a bunch of other things on their machines…

Thanks all (so much!) in advance for any help you can provide.

0 Likes

Generally in Python there’s a set of locations that are searched when you do an import of a module, which is controlled by the sys.path; it contains some paths that Python inherently knows about and can be augmented via the PYTHONPATH or manipulated at runtime by changing sys.path (this is somewhat of an oversimplification, but that’s the general idea).