Sublime Forum

Open terminus in a split view

hi,

I am new to Origami. The developer’s site for Terminus describes how to open terminus in split view.

I have this working for terminus_open, which is using Terminus View.

In my build system I am using terminus_exec which works with Terminus Panel.

I want to have the build output on the left instead of below. How can I have the console output of terminus_exec in a View instead of a Panel?

0 Likes

terminus_exec is a drop-in replacement for exec (the standard command for executing a build) but behind the scenes it’s just executing terminus_open in order to execute the build, so it takes the same arguments as terminus_open would take, except that the defaults for arguments when you don’t provide them are different for teminus_exec than for terminus_open.

With that said, the argument that makes terminus_open use a panel over a view is panel_name; specifying that makes terminus_open create a panel, and not specifying one opens a view instead. In order to be a drop-in replacement for exec (which executes in a panel), terminus_exec enforces the panel_name argument and in fact will throw an exception if you try to use it or specify it directly (in this case to remove it so that it will open in a view).

So in that sense, what you’re trying to do is not possible using terminus_exec directly because you can’t provide it the argument that it needs in order to open in a view so that it can be side by side. To do this you need to use terminus_open instead and pass it some additional arguments. For example:

{
    "target": "terminus_open",

"shell_cmd": "sleep 20 && ls",

"title": "Terminus Build Results",
    "auto_close": false,
    "timeit": true,

"post_window_hooks": [ ["carry_file_to_pane", {"direction": "left"}] ],
}