Sublime Forum

No output with Custom Build-System for Neuron on OSX

Hi,

I’m new to sublime text and am trying to get setup to run code in Neuron, a neural simulation environment. Specifically, I’m trying to get output from .hoc files, a file type in Neuron that is executed as an interpreted language. Typically I can run a .hoc file from the command line with:
nrngui filename.hoc
given I’m in the current directory for that file. This will execute the file, show output and leave one in the hoc interpreter within the command line.
In sublime text I’ve created the following build-system file:
{
"shell_cmd": ["nrngui", "$file"],
"selector": "source.Neuron",
"file_regex": "^\\s*File \"(...*?)\", line ([0-9]*)"
}
Whenever I run this I get absolutely no output.

Note: I’ve added syntax highlighting (thank you Jordan Guerguiev on github) and I assumed that is what should be supplied to selector.

0 Likes

shell_cmd should have a string as an argument, not a list of items (cmd works that way). So changing the value of shell_cmd to "nrngui \"$file\"", may work better.

You might want to check the Sublime console (View > Show Console) to see if it’s generating any sort of errors when you run this that might be stopping it from working.

One last thing to note is that Sublime doesn’t directly support interactive programs; it captures output but it doesn’t connect up the input of your program to anything. So if all works properly, your program will run and when the interpeter goes interactive it will essentially hang in the background and you won’t be able to interact with it.

The Terminus package is a good way to run something like this; I have a video available on how to convert a build system to use terminus that may be of help in this regard as well.

0 Likes