Sublime Forum

Newbie personal plugin guidance needed

I have zero experience with Python but I would like to create, what I hope will be, a fairly simple personal plugin.

When editing text and markdown files, I would like to be able to skip from sentence to sentence. This is table-stakes stuff for emacs/Vim but I miss it in Sublime.

I have been watching most of Odatnurd’s Youtube playlist on plugin dev so now have some basic understanding of how plugins work. What I am struggling with, besides trying to understand how Python does things, is knowing what the appropriate methods are from the API for what I want to achieve. I’ll admit to being a little overwhelmed!

My intention is two have two commands: move_to_character and move_back_to_character, with the idea being that when you set the keymap, you can pass the character (maybe regex pattern as a string??) you are interested in moving forwards/backwards to.

My humble beginnings look like this:

def run(self, edit):
    sels = self.view.sel()
    for sel in sels:
        if self.view.substr(sel).find('.') != -1:
            foundForward = True

What methods exist to move backwards through the buffer? Is rfind with the cursor pos as the index the way to go? Something like character_behind = self.view.substr(sel).rfind('.', 0, cursorPos) ??

Once I have moved to the location, what methods should I be using to set the new cursor position?

Thanks for any pointers!

0 Likes

Something that you’re possibly missing is that there’s no difference between a selection and a cursor/caret. The typical cursor that’s simply a vertical bar and nothing more is just considered to be a selection with size zero.

The string being returned by self.view.substr(sel) in your example is probably a lot shorter than you’re expecting. Rather than extracting text using that method (based on a selection), you probably want to use some combination of view.find(...), view.find_all(...) and view.find_by_class(...) instead.