Sublime Forum

New user - [WinError 2] The system cannot find the file specified

I am very new to this and trying to run a simple hello world program but when build with python3 get the following error message. Any help would be much appreciated.

[WinError 2] The system cannot find the file specified
[cmd: [‘python3’, ‘-u’, ‘C:\Users\Darci\Desktop\python_work\hello_world.py’]]
[dir: C:\Users\Darci\Desktop\python_work]
[path: C:\Users\Darci\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python38-32;C:\Users\Darci\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python38-32\Scripts;C:\Users\Darci\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python38-32]
[Finished]

0 Likes

A very common problem of new users.

As the error message says: The python3 command defined in the default build system for python can’t be found as it is not part of python windows releases by default.

The solution is to tweak the build system configuration as described in …

0 Likes

Thank you. I updated the code and according to the book I’m following I should get…

Hello Python World!
Finished in 0.2s

However I just get Finished 0.2s - does that mean it is working, or not? Is there a way to check if it is working? Sorry for the basic questions

0 Likes

If you’re using the built in Python build system (or a modification of it) make sure that you’re not selecting the Syntax Check variant of the build; that only compiles the code without running it.

0 Likes

I changed the build system again to the following code and now when I try and run it it says that there is ‘no build system’.

And sorry, what do you mean @OdatNurd about selecting the syntax check in the editor? I have checked the build system in SE and can’t see this checked, or not.

0 Likes

realised I didn’t put the code in - this is what I inputted

“cmd”: “python -u “$file””,
“file_regex”: “^ ]File “(…?)”, line ([0-9]*)”,
“selector”: “source.python”,

0 Likes