Sublime Forum

New to sublime - Need help with color themes

So I just got into programming in Python and I’ve tried quite a few different text editors and I’m leaning towards sublime text but there are just a couple things that I’m having trouble with that I feel are really simple fixes but since I’m new to both programming and sublime text I just cant figure it out.

First problem - Color Schemes. I can change my color scheme fairly easily and I’ve even found out how to install new themes but I continue to run into the same problem. When I type text into the editor it is all the same color. I really like it when certain groups of keywords are highlighted certain colors and numbers are different as well. Words like ‘if’, ‘while’, ‘for’, etc. I really could care less which color they are as this is my first text editor I just want them to change. I know its possible because I’ve looked at tutorial videos and screenshots and seen exactly what I’m talking about on other peoples computers.

I did follow a guide at this site http://dbader.org/blog/setting-up-sublime-text-for-python-development so some of my preferences have changed which is probably why I’m having issues but I tried uninstalling and reinstalling and the settings stay the same. Is there a way to reset everything as if I’ve never installed it before? Or if that is unnecessary is there something on that site that is causing my text to all be just plain white?

Second problem - Probably a simpler one. When I type a line of code where the next line needs to be indented - ex. def function(arg): - the next line needs to be indented 4 spaces. Is there a way to set this up so it does this automatically? This is a huge deal really but it would be really nice and help me out a ton so I don’t lose my train of thought or run into errors with my code because I forgot to press tab when I’m used to it happening automatically.