Sublime Forum

Misbehaving curly braces

Hi all,
This is my first time posting here. So please ignore any mistakes that I make while writing this post.

I have been using sublime text 3 for almost a year now. But somehow, just recently the curly brace functionality in my sublime text started to misbehave.

Earlier when I used to type { at the cursor’s position, I used to get {} as usual.

But now, when I type {, I get the following:

Curly%20braces%202

As you can see, the closing brace now appears after 2 lines of code.

Can anyone please tell me how to correct this thing as it used to work normally earlier.

0 Likes

It may be due to a misbehaving package. Which packages do you have installed?

0 Likes

Actually, I have reinstalled sublime text and the problem seems to be fixed now. I had not installed any additional packages. I installed sublime via apt-get earlier and now as well.

0 Likes

Sublime Text calls wrap_block if you type a { at the end of a line with "auto_match_enabled": true set in the Preferences.sublime-settings.

It tries to wrap a block of code into braces based on its indention level (only). This functionality comes with a set of edge cases, which might render it annyoing in several situations.

If the function was not confused by mixed spaces/tabs used for indention I can’t see a reason why it should have been triggered ass cerr has the same indention level as tests(t).

The command is implemented in the Default/block.py.

1 Like

Thanks for your answer. But is there a way to disable the feature of putting the auto-complete bracket after some piece of text/code ? I mean what I want is that instead the auto-complete bracket gets put like this {} always. Is there some way to do this ?

0 Likes

The Default/Default (Windows).sublime-keybinding contains a blocks like

// Auto-pair curly brackets
	{ "keys": ["{"], "command": "insert_snippet", "args": {"contents": "{$0}"}, "context":
		[