Sublime Forum

Making a website

Hello. I am a beginner and I am using the sublime notepad to make a website. I am using windows 10 and do not know how to open my website and see what I am actually doing on the browser. It is hard to explain but I cannot see what I am creating. Can someone please respond with clear instructions on how to open up a web page. Thanks!!

0 Likes

Drag that html file into your web browser window :grinning:

0 Likes

I (tt@qualityregister.co.uk) have twice asked this question in the past week and received no replies. Even now I cannot activate your solution. I have ST3 open with a Crome html file alongside but they will not communicate. What am I missing?
With apologies to MartinLI for interrupting.

0 Likes

Sublime is not an IDE (like dunno, dreamweaver, if it still exists), there is no live preview/communication between ST and any browser out of the box, possible solutions:

1. just hit refresh on the browser to see changes [easiest]
  2. search for a package to autoreload browser’s pages on file save (Live​Reload for example) [normal]
  3. use a task runner in your project (grunt, gulp) or a bundler (webpack) and add a livereload task [advanced]
1 Like

@tanyard, is this your previous question: Branded not to start! ?
I’m not surprised noone answered, sorry but “ST3 will not speak to html file or vice versa” really makes no sense…

1 Like

Yes I am also Tanyard. OK, so ‘speak’ is not the accepted terminology. I appreciate the html functions of ST3 but I want to see the outcome in an html file; after all the purpose of a text editor I understand is to ‘mark up’ a webpage. My problem is I cannot ‘link’ the html file to ST3 or vice versa; any words entered in ST3 do not show in a similarly named html file. I have been using ‘reload’ as you suggest but no impact; I will now try your LiveReload example but will this work if there is no load to reload, if you see what I mean?

0 Likes