Sublime Forum

Make Sublime Text Open Source

I have been using Sublime Text ever since I started programming (in the college of course). My peers used to mark ST as a mere text editor and hence a useless programming tool, but I blatantly told them that using ST takes certain expertise which many don’t have and hence switch to VS Code for ease. I would boast of it’s speed, efficiency etc. But finally, I had the taste of my own medicine. The development of ST has lagged so much behind VS Code now, that now I really feel it is just a text editor.

Debugging, auto completions etc. are not so much as default features. The extensions which support these features are becoming old and scarce, and are definitely not easy to use. As my code gets complex, I need better tools. There was a demand to make ST open source back in 2011 too, but I guess that didn’t make much difference back then, but now if ST has to compete, it has to have a better pace of development.

I got to know through some posts that ST has a small team of developers (I don’t know how true is that), but they can use Cannonical’s or Red Hat’s model to make profit off an open-source Sublime Text. Meanwhile, the pace of development of the editor does not have to suffer. I am deciding to switch to VS Code full-time today, but I love ST so much that I am using ST’s keymap on VSC. If something in this direction happens, I would definitely switch back to ST when it has comparable tools, but for now, adios ST.

P.S. Thanks for making me love :heart: programming for the past 1.5 years. It would be hard to forget the experience.

1 Like

1 Like