Sublime Forum

License and auto update

Reading this post, if I get a licence for ST3 (i know we’re on ST(4) but I don’t want ST(4) for reasons) I can turn the auto update function off. However when the license expires (in three years or so) I guess we’re back to auto_update = True and if I press the wrong key, bam ST(4).

Basically I’d like confirmation that the license for ST3 is permanent, the post at the top seemed to imply that it was, is that true ?

Thank you.

Ps As a personal note, I’m not a professional dev and I’m a bit stuck in a grey area, I want to support to ‘the team’ but when there’s an ST problem it takes up loads of time, but it is, now, after (2 years) actually saving me time. The auto update feature being only one key press (I mean that’d solve it there, “are you sure y/n”, “are you really sure this’ll change ST’s structure”, “some stuff will stop working etc”) is a massive drag, I’m sure it isn’t for other users, but it is for me, and I can only make decisions that affect me, before the flamers charge in ! So would my liscence last and auto-update be off the table in perptuity if I bought a license for ST3 ?

PPs The unfortunate thing for me was timing, I’d just getting ST3 to work how I wanted and then ST(4) came out. I accidentally auto-updated a while back and immediately two or three packages that I use all the time stopped working. That’s extra work, just coz I opened a file with ST3 and was a bit tired. If I want to use a new peice of software, I want to decide when I want to use it, not have some other folks decide when I want to use it. That’s why I use Linux :wink:

0 Likes

No, your license for a particular version of sublime is good forever. You only need to purchase a new license if you want to use a new version that came out after the 3-year window on your original license.