Sublime Forum

LaTeXTools: Custom macro for cite/ref

Hello. I’m new to using LaTeXTools with Sublime and I really like the auto-complete feature that comes with \cite and \ref, that is, \cite{ automatically pulls up the entries from the linked .bib file.

However, by habit, I always complete my brackets manually and immediately, that is, I always type {} or () and then reposition my cursor to inside the brackets. As a result, whenever I try to cite an entry, I usually type \cite{} and since the auto-completion is triggered by \cite{, the } goes into the search box. Is there any way to prevent this? I’ve tried disabling the cite_auto_trigger in the user preferences file and then using macros, with manually typing in C-l,x after positioning my cursor between { and }, but it doesn’t work.

Is there any work-around for this issue? My final goal is to assign a keyboard shortcut to the whole process, something like c,c,tab would automatically pull up the possible keys and let me choose from them, and after choosing I can continue typing without having to worry about closing the }, but I can do that part myself once I know how to trigger the auto-completion without worrying about the braces.

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes

There isn’t really enough detail in your post do figure this out. The process you’ve laid out, i.e., disabling cite_auto_trigger is the way you would disable the {-based auto-completion and typing ctrl + l, x (or cmd + l, x on Mac) should give you the menu and let you select the bibliography entry you want to cite. Just to be abundantly clear, that’s, e.g., ctrl + l simultaneously followed by x.

There’s also the somewhat finger-bending C-l,alt+x,c command that will give you the menu and insert the citekey at your current cursor location with no additional bells and whistles.

0 Likes