Sublime Forum

Keyboard friendly way to create new files and folders

Hello,

I’m new to ST2. One thing I love about Sublime (and TextMate) is the keyboard friendly goto file functionality to easily open up any file in my project. I just wish it was equally as easy to create new files and folders in my project. I know command+n will create a new tab and command+s will bring up the file save dialogue and that I can navigate to a folder and save the file there, but on OSX this requires using the mouse/trackpad. At the moment I prefer to navigate through the folders in the sidebar and and Option + Click the folder name where I’d want to place my new file or folder in. However, this isn’t so intuitive when compared to the ease and fluidness of command+p to goto and open a specific file throughout the project.

Perhaps a “Goto Folder” function that will navigate the sidebar to the specified folder and activate/highlight it would help. Along with a “Create File/Folder” function.

Example usage:

1. I press some shortcut to trigger Goto-Folder
  2. I start typing in ‘classes/controllers’ to bring up the controllers folder in the search results
  3. I hit enter to reveal it in the sidebar
  4. I press some shortcut to trigger a Create New File or Folder function
  5. I type in home.php and hit enter which creates a new file in my classes/controller folder and opens it in a new tab. Perhaps the same can be done to create a new sub folder - instead of typing home.php I could type home/ and after hitting enter in this case it will activate that folder in the sidebar after it’s created.

I would repeat the process to create a home.php file in my ‘classes/views’ folder and a home.mustache file in my ‘templates/pages’ folder.

Just my 2 cents.

1 Like

How to get visibility and focus of sidebar?