Sublime Forum

Insert consecutive numbers without using multiple selections

Hi guys

I am new to sublime text. I want to insert consecutive numbers from 1 to 50. I came across many threads that says about inserting numbers across multiple selections but in my case I am trying to insert numbers from 1 to 50 into an empty text file, hence no selection can be made.

The file should only have numbers like below. Is it possible?

0 Likes

I think that this package can help you, but I haven’t used it.

0 Likes

It says about using it on selection. I want to insert without a selection.

0 Likes

an empty selection in an empty document counts as a selection :wink:

3 Likes

If you use it without a selection, how will it know where to insert? I guess you could just insert at the beginning of the document… Maybe some of these suggested plugins do that if there is no selection. You may have to experiment with some of them to see.

Regardless of how it gets inserted, it may be that you desire a very specific workflow that hasn’t been written by someone yet. If that is the case, you may just need to write your own plugin.

I would go into Package Control and search for your desired functionality. You may have better luck that way than hoping for someone who happens to use the package you want to stumble on this thread, or for someone to do the research for you. If you can’t find what you need, I’d take a look at writing your own plugin. People are generally helpful here and can answer plugin coding questions. EDIT: it is possible you’ve already researched as much as you can; don’t want to sound like I’m accusing you of not doing research yourself.

If you describe in detail the functionality you are hoping to achieve, as the details of exactly how you expect the plugin to work are still a little vague, maybe someone will throw together a simple example as what you want most likey would be pretty trivial to throw together.

2 Likes