Sublime Forum

Importing paramiko (& other libraries)

Hi, I’m new to plugin development. I want to use other python libraries in my plugin, starting with paramiko. I’ve read a few different threads on here about how difficult it is to install third party libraries, but people have reported success. So far I’ve tried 2 things that haven’t worked

1. Downloading the paramiko source code from github and just putting it in the same folder as my plugin. This seemed to result in a circular dependency (I got an error about paramiko not existing in one of the paramiko files).

What seemed more promising was getting the dependency through package control, although I think I’m missing some understanding about this, because people were saying that you have to do dependencies manually currently but this seems automated?

1. I created a dependencies.json file (like this example: https://github.com/packagecontrol/requests). But when I ran Satisfy Dependencies, it still didn’t work (for the requests module or paramiko).

I would prefer to find a way where the dependency can be loaded automatically without the user having to do things separately, but mostly I want to be able to use paramiko, so I can load whatever I need to in order to get that to work. My problem is that I don’t understand what these threads are saying to do to load dependencies (or why importing the source code directly didn’t work)

Sources (read them but still confused):
https://packagecontrol.io/docs/dependencies (not sure if packages are the same as plugins in this context)
Dependencies in Package Control 3
Using paramiko library in ST2 plugins

0 Likes

There is a paramiko dependency for Sublime. However, it is only declared to be compatible with Mac OS. The dependency has an open issue for Windows compatibility.

0 Likes

That would be great - I’m on a Mac and desperate at this point! How do I link this to my plugin? Should I just copy those files from github or is there a command to run in Sublime?