Sublime Forum

Huge screen flickering and window rendering bugs

yesterday everything was fine.

today i opened sublime and noticed a huge flickering

here is a video to explain better: https://vimeo.com/661949917

note: sublime wasnt updated, its was build 4121 or something like this (sublime text 4)

i’ve been running sublime 4 for 2 months without any problems

note: i’ve had this in user settings for 2 months (no problems)

hardware_acceleration: "opengl"

yesterday i made an update on manjaro with sudo pacman -Syyu. i saw that nvidia drivers were updated and many things. i guess opengl was updated too. the package is called mesa, my current is 21.3.2-1

when i set hardware acc to “none”:

hardware_acceleration: "none"

the flickering is gone.

another note: every other window on my linux doesnt have a problem like this.

does anyone from here has a similar experience ?

0 Likes

Yes.

Much the same solution as yours.

0 Likes

wait. your solution was to disable hardware acc ? thats it?
but i want hardware acc :frowning: , sublime seems faster (or its just my impression).

i know that seems like a solution. but its a temporary solution.

0 Likes

bschaaf

Nov 2021

Are you using hardware acceleration? Note the menu bar is drawn by GTK not us and GTK3 has known issues with hardware acceleration.

As bschaaf says, this rendering issue under hardware acceleration lies with the GTK3 widget tool kit.

Yes, if GTK3 were fixed then we could apply hardware acceleration and it would be faster. But until it is fixed, we must sacrifice speed for clarity and better user experience (no flicker).

0 Likes

i’ve come to the conclusion that its as linux related problem.
there is a bug in the mesa package on arch linux, which is opengl library.

i was using hardware acc with opengl for a long time with sublime text and there was no problem. everything was fine.

until i got an update on mesa package.

now w’ll wait to get fixed. thanks for help.

0 Likes