Sublime Forum

How to use Sublime REPL for Java

Hello

I started programming Java with Sublime text 3.
I was looking for a suitable solution to my problem everywhere, but i did not find.
How can I give an input in Sublimetext 3?
I configured It to run my programm in Sublimetext but i dont know how to organize it to give an input.
I saw a video how they do it with the REPL addon for Python but it seems it doesn’t supports the Java language.

Greetings

0 Likes

0 Likes

Thanks for your quick answer!
I still have some Problems to use Sublime as my Java IDE.
Can you please help me to make a build system that run my Java program and put out Hello World for example?
it shows [Finished in 0.71s] only.

What are the steps I need to do that it puts out Hello World and how i can give an Input to the programm i showed your Video but for me it doesn’t work for Java.
Sorry for this questions but im a noob and i need some help to start with Java :slight_smile:

0 Likes

The build system for Java that comes with Sublime only compiles code and doesn’t run it, so if you used that one, that would be the issue. For something like Java you ideally want to use a dedicated build tool like ant or maven or such. Sublime has a build system for ant already so if you used that one, you’d be mostly good to go.

The following post includes a version of the built in java build that compiles and then runs the code, though it will only work for a single file Java program:

0 Likes

I tried this code for my build system but it doesn’t work,
if i try to run it with i have this error.

0 Likes

Is the Java file that you’re trying to run in the E:\patrick\Java folder directly (not say a sub-folder or such)?

The build system as outlined in that post sets the working_dir field to "${project_path:${folder}}"; working_dir is analagous to what folder your terminal would be sitting in when you manually enter the text in shell_cmd to run the build.