Sublime Forum

How to run(execute)c# code

hi i tried to execute a basic c# code to see if it works or not and it didn t i triend to use terminus but i think i have to do something like creating a new build system(i tried but failed)
and i tried to use a plugin called c# compile and run and i get an error but it was another error idk if it is fixed or not but the error now is: ‘csc.exe’ is not recognized as an internal or external command,
and when i tried to create a new build system i got win error 2 and 5
so i don t know what to do i just wanna execute c# code thats it
btw im a beginner

0 Likes

ok there is something weird
i pasted this in a new build system and named is c#.sublime-build:

{
   "cmd": ["csc", "$file_name", "&&", "start","cmd", "/k", "$file_base_name.exe"],
   "file_regex": "^(...?):([0-9]):?([0-9]*)",
   "working_dir": "$file_path",
   "selector": "source.cs",
   "shell": true,
   "quiet": true
}

and then it worked BUT the c# compiler plugin worked and its faster than the c#.sublime-build
why did it worked now even when i deleted it?
and i wanna compile it on both cmd and in sublime(at the bottom srry idk what it is called panel i think)

and i got this code from:https://stackoverflow.com/questions/33906312/how-do-i-make-a-build-system-for-sublime-3-to-compile-the-current-cs-file-c

0 Likes

The build system is starting the external program you specify there with arguments and capturing what it does. Presumably the plugin does a similar thing, but perhaps executes a different tool or uses different arguments.

The build you have outlined there is (via the start cmd /k part) opening an external command prompt and running your program inside of it.

If that part wasn’t there, the program would execute in the build panel at the bottom of the window instead. In doing so your program would however not be able to accept input because the output panel, as its name suggests, is output only.

If you have Terminus installed, you can add: